ARB AIR LOCKERS

Anything related to off-road Technical questions and Modifications
Mac
Honorary Member
Honorary Member

ARB AIR LOCKERS

Post by Mac »

Right then, the jeep bug! that Iguana warned me about. Just reading about ARB Air Lockers. I am NOT technically minded, I may be a Class 1 Police ( Retired) Advanced Driver but this does not include off road! What are the benefits, will I have cause to use them? If so, when? and how much??? Khaiwi, were you using yours yesterday whilst digging out on the crest of the dune? How much are they anyway? Just fitted new padded Jeep armrests, big difference. Thanks Mal
mac@ad4x4.com
Member #63
Overseas Marshal
Tynemouth.
UK.
+447875947350

khaiwi
Founder & Chairman
Founder & Chairman

Re: ARB AIR LOCKERS

Post by khaiwi »

malpatt wrote:Right then, the jeep bug! that Iguana warned me about. Just reading about ARB Air Lockers. I am NOT technically minded, I may be a Class 1 Police ( Retired) Advanced Driver but this does not include off road! What are the benefits, will I have cause to use them? If so, when? and how much??? Khaiwi, were you using yours yesterday whilst digging out on the crest of the dune? How much are they anyway? Just fitted new padded Jeep armrests, big difference. Thanks Mal
Oh dear Mal,

As u said Iguana has already warned you and there u go.....

Lockers is a big topic that we had several threads about sometime ago, so if you run a search on this forum you will get lots of threads to read. In the meantime I will try to make a short reply.

Generally speaking:
- 2wheel drive is in fact 1 wheel traction
- 4wheel drive is in fact 2 wheel traction, one front and one rear
- 4wheel drive one diff locked is 3 wheel traction, two on the locked diff and one on the other
- 4wheel drive two diffs locked is 4 wheel traction